Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey


ON SALE NOW: Gluten Free, Real Food Recipes for Kids. Just $3.99 exclusively on Amazon.
70+ recipes both kids and adults will love + tips on how to avoid processed foods.


If You Loved Fifty Shades of Grey, You'll Love These Books - Don't Mess with Mama.com

I know I’m not the only Grey-sessed fan of the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy – and if you’re not sure check out my post on 10 Signs That You’re Addicted to 50 Shades of Grey. I finished the third book last weekend, and I’m still in mourning over it. I’ve been re-reading all three books over and over. I even sent a message to author EL James on Twitter begging her to write more bonus material – who else loved the “Meet Fifty Shades” chapter in book 3? I’d love a whole book just from Christian Grey’s point of view.

But alas, there’s nothing new about Christian Grey. So if you’re pining for a new book series to get your mind of Mr. Fifty himself, consider paranormal romance or urban fantasy books. While there’s no BDSM like 50 Shades of Grey, there’s a lot of hot vampires, werewolves, and other creatures who like to stake a claim on their women (like how Christian is always claiming Ana as “mine”).

Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey

If You Loved Fifty Shades of Grey, You'll Love These Books - Don't Mess with Mama.comDown to You series by M. Leighton


I found this series browsing Amazon reviews, and I was not disappointed. After the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy, I had a hard time reading other books. I didn’t want stories too similar but I wanted characters who had a good banter too. Olivia Townsend is a college student on meets bad boy Cash Davenport at a friend’s bachelorette party. She immediately knows he’s trouble. Turns out that his twin (and equally hot brother) is dating Olivia’s cousin (and roommate) Marisa. Olivia starts to get close with both brothers and then things get really complicated. Check out the second book (Up to Me) and third book (Everything for Us).

Succubus Blues series by Richelle Mead (Vampire Academy series)

I really love this adult series. It’s one of my favorites and well written. Georgia Kincaid is a succubus (I know, weird premise), and she’s smart, sassy, and apart from working for a demon as a succubus she’s got a job at the bookstore. I felt like the characters were kind of hipster (so I could relate) and I loved the dialogue Georgina had with her misfit friends (vampires, an angel, a demon, and an imp). Trust me, you’ll love it – she’s a succubus so there’s a lot of *ahem* action. There’s 6 books in the series: Succubus On Top, Succubus Dreams, Succubus Heat, Succubus Shadows, Succubus Revealed.

Storm Born series by Richelle Mead

The Dark Swan adult series has another weird twist on the paranormal. Eugenie Markham is a shaman (yes, I know weird again) who kicks butt and banishes spirits and creatures to the Otherworld. She has an affair with a kitstune fox and Dorian the Oak Land king. Hang in there – I swear by the second chapter you’ll be hooked. Mead is great writer. There’s 3 books in the series so far: Thorn Queen and Iron Crowned.



Pleasure Unbound series by Larissa Ione

Fantastic series about demons who aren’t entirely bad, in fact, they are the heros. I loved the plot of demon-slayer Tayla who gets admitted to a hospital run by demons in disguise, and falls for Eidolon, the demon doctor who treats her. This is a series of 5 Demonica books: Desire Unchained, Passion Unleashed (my absolute favorite in the whole series), Ecstasy Unveiled, Sin Undone.

Dark Lover series by JR Ward
One of the first adult paranormal romance book series I read. It was a little hard for me to get into the motorbike, leather pants, long hair-thing – it made me feel like I was in a 90s glam rock music video (Poison, anyone), but once I got over that the story between Beth and Wrath are great. The first 5 books in the series are fun to read – especially book 3 Lover Awakened which features a Christian Grey-like character named Zsadist). Other books in the series include: Lover Eternal, Lover Revealed, Lover Unbound, Lover Enshrined, Lover Avenged, Lover Mine, Lover Unleashed.

If You Like Fifty Shades of Grey, You'll Love These Books - Don't Mess with Mama.comBared to You: A Crossfire Novel by Sylvia Day

There are a lot of similarities with this series and Fifty Shades of Grey – e.g. hot billionaire, young woman in her first job, lots of sex, a bit of a Dominant/submissive storyline, and a love story. But that’s where the similarities end. The characters are much darker. Both are dealing with sexual abuse in their pasts – so the book takes a darker turn, unlike 50 Shades where Ana is a guiding light for Christian. There’s also none of the witty banter we get with Christian and Ana – rather Ava and Gideon are abrupt with each other and sometimes cold. You have to hang in there for the second (Reflected in You) and third (Entwined in You) books.

Don’t Mess with Mama Reader Favorites

These books have been suggested by readers of Don’t Mess with Mama. Have a book to suggest? Leave a comment below.

Related Blog Posts




PAID ENDORSEMENT DISCLOSURE: In order for me to support my blogging activities, I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. Please see all my disclosures and disclaimers, including Amazon and other affiliate partners.

Comments

  1. I am in awwwww over it. I can’t stop thinking about it all. I think I am in love with C. Grey. I have a few more pages left of Freed but I am ready to start them all over again. Thanks for the book ideas. I need to read other books in between re-reading Fifty Shades. LOL!

    • I’m so with you. I’m re-reading the first book for the third time! I’m obsessed with Christian Grey too. At least we know there are others like us. Can’t wait to hear more about the movie.

      • Oh, don’t worry, Tracey. Just about everyone I know isn’t stopping at JUST reading the trilogy ONCE!! I have never felt this way, so obsessed, with a book EVER in my life!! What’s going to happen to us when the movie comes out??

        • We’re beyond obsessed – we’re Grey-sessed! Who’s your top pick for Christian in the movie? I love the idea of Alexander Skarsgaard but he might be too old. Alex Pettyfer is great too but too young. Hmmmm.

          I’d love for you to join in a conversation on my community about 50 Shades of Grey. http://dontmesswithmama.com/community/. And I’ll be posting more 50 Shades stories soon so keep checking back.

          • The guy I picture as Christian Grey is Matt Bomer!! He plays in the show White Collar. He’s a GOD!!! Every time I watch that show and he’s wearing a grey suit I think of 50 Shades of Grey. I would die if he got the part.

  2. Like yourself I’ve re-read the Fifty books several times. But the series I really cannot wait for the next book to come out is the Vampries in America series by DB Reynolds, http://www.dbreynolds.com. Paranormal adult books with a strong characters and easy reads.

  3. Anything in Sherrilyn Kenyon “The Dark Hunters” series is really good and steamy too…especially the first ones.

  4. Nancy Drew says:

    I loved all the books. i feel like im in love with Christian, which is kind of freaky. I would love to know if she is coming out with a book from Christians point of view. that would be AWESOME!!!
    I loved the “Meet Fifty” chapter. Oh how i wish she would of made five books out of the story.

    • Me too – I really loved the Meet Fifty chapter. I want a whole series from Christian’s point of view. I heard she’s working on a new romance series, but unrelated to 50 Shades. What are we all going to do until then?!

      I’d love for you to join in a conversation on my community about 50 Shades of Grey. http://dontmesswithmama.com/community/. And I’ll be posting more 50 Shades stories soon so keep checking back.

  5. I whole-heartedly agree on continuing ‘Meet 50 Shades.’ I immediately reread every book to see it from Grey’s point of view! I have found a similar read: Insufferable Cruelty by Z. Stefani. It is more crude, but less BDSM. It does feature a strong, controlling male and an element of drama. The first chapters are just background so it can be slow to get started but keep going! It’s worth it! Thank you for your reccomendations. I’m going to try Richelle Mead!

  6. Michelle Stuart says:

    I read them all in 3 days..AND I WORK FULL TIME! I couldn’t go to bed for thinking of Christian! I have been in mourning for him since I finished reading! No one around is reading and I just wanted someone I know to be reading them with me so I could text and say omg..he loves her! I am re-reading to sooth my lonely heart! Greycessed!

    • Michelle, thanks for your comment. I can totally relate. I was so obsessed. I’d even take a longer time in the bathroom to get a few pages in. I’m re-reading them now because I’m not ready to give up on Mr. Christian Grey.

      Thanks for posting. I’d love for you to join in a conversation on my community about 50 Shades of Grey. http://dontmesswithmama.com/community/

  7. I am so glad I am not alone in my obsession with these books! I too am not ready to let go of Christian Grey. I am re-reading the trilogy for the 3rd time. I think I need a 12 step program but if loving Christian is wrong, I don’t think I want to be right! I thought of Michael Fassbender in the Christian role as I was reading. I would love him for the movie but he is too old for the part at 35.

    • Lucy, I could easily see myself reading these books 3 times. You are definitely not alone. I love Michael Fassbender as Christian. He’d be my ideal match if he were younger. Can’t wait to see who’s going to get cast.

      I’d love for you to join in a conversation on my community about 50 Shades of Grey. http://dontmesswithmama.com/community/. And I’ll be posting more 50 Shades stories soon so keep checking back.

  8. Awesome site! I’m new here but not to Fifty Shades – I’m on my 4th re-read and I pray every night Ms. James will complete and publish Christian’s side of the story so I can read those 5 or 6 time too. I have read The Sleeping Beauty Novels by Anne Rice and really enjoyed those as will as Richelle Mead’s novels. The others I will have to try out. Thank you.

  9. Theresa S. says:

    I cant tell you how bummed I am that I finished FREED. I loved the last chapter and now I am excited to start GREY again knowing how he thinks…but Im still pissed that I cant move onto other books because I feel like they wont compare. I think this series has ruined all future reads for me. I do wish the author would expand more. I bet sheʻs thinking about it!

  10. This post sings to me! *happy sigh* I love that both you and your readers are widely read in the type of books I like. Reading all your book suggestions, I kinda felt like a kid let loose in a candy store. Thanks a mil. :-)
    Also, The Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead rocks.

  11. I’m so fifty shades of obsessed right now, I’m only halfway done book 2 and I’m going to be re-reading them over and over, I can tell already. I’m so in love with Christian it’s ridiculous!!

  12. Sparkle says:

    I exhaled tonite when I found out I’m not the only absolutely Grey-sessed female on the planet. I’m now on my fourth re- read of the series. I was beginning to think I am losing my mind & my grip on reality. Thank you ladies! Fantasy love has opened a new world for me! Ian Somerholder, William Levy and Chris Evans are my top picks to play Christian Grey!

    • I think I’m on my way to a 4th re-read. I’m reading Bared to You and I just can’t get into it. Gideon Cross is no Christian Grey. I just saw Snow White and the Huntsman this weekend, and I could totally see Chris Hemsworth as Christian. Can’t wait to see who gets picked.

      • Totally agree bared to you just makes me miss FSOG more. Who cares about those people? I have tried to read about 6 books recommend by others to read after, and have returned them all after about 50 pages. Guess I will have to read FSOG again ,and again,and again…..love having all three on my iPad.

        • I totally feel the same way. I miss Fifty Shades so much. I’m trying to wean off but the other books are just not the same. I guess it’ll have to do until the movie comes out.

  13. ogrumpy1 says:

    I agree that Bared to You is not a great substitute for Fifty Shades. I totally miss the books although I’ve re-read them 2ce so far. My husband and I loved the bantering between them in their emailings, that was hysterical!!! My thumbs up for Ian Somerholder to protray Christian Grey. Check out his younger pics with lighter hair, the onlyl thing that’s missing are colored contact lenses in grey. He’s a total hunk and he’s yummy to look at.

    • Thanks for stopping by. I know – it’s hard to get over Christian Grey. So far I just haven’t found anyone else to read that’s been better, so I keep re-reading Fifty Shades. I need a support group.

  14. Donna Cheatle says:

    If you loved FSOG, you MUST read the Rescue Me series by Kallypso Masters!! Start with Master At Arms and then go on to the next. They need to be read in order though! Completely awesome and worth the read, I promise

  15. mrzrivera says:

    I glad and releaved that im not the only who is so in love with Christian. Ive’d never read a book that completely butt into my real life. I mean I literally didnt want to sleep just because I didnt want to put kindle down.Im anxiously waiting for the movie. Charlie is perfect. I saw him in The Ledge and he looked so hot in it. He has Christians charactaristics hair, body, facial hair, the bad boy look. They made an excelent choice. Cant wait :)

Speak Your Mind

*

Get Free Weekly Email Updates

Never miss out on the latest from Don't Mess with Mama. Each week, you'll get:

- Delicious gluten-free and Paleo/Primal recipes
- Real food cooking tips
- DIY tutorials
- And much more

Your email address is never shared with any third party and used only for updates from Don't Mess with Mama.