Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey


Share Button

If You Loved Fifty Shades of Grey, You'll Love These Books - Don't Mess with Mama.com

I know I’m not the only Grey-sessed fan of the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy – and if you’re not sure check out my post on 10 Signs That You’re Addicted to 50 Shades of Grey. I finished the third book last weekend, and I’m still in mourning over it. I’ve been re-reading all three books over and over. I even sent a message to author EL James on Twitter begging her to write more bonus material – who else loved the “Meet Fifty Shades” chapter in book 3? I’d love a whole book just from Christian Grey’s point of view.

But alas, there’s nothing new about Christian Grey. So if you’re pining for a new book series to get your mind of Mr. Fifty himself, consider paranormal romance or urban fantasy books. While there’s no BDSM like 50 Shades of Grey, there’s a lot of hot vampires, werewolves, and other creatures who like to stake a claim on their women (like how Christian is always claiming Ana as “mine”).

Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey

If You Loved Fifty Shades of Grey, You'll Love These Books - Don't Mess with Mama.comDown to You series by M. Leighton

I found this series browsing Amazon reviews, and I was not disappointed. After the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy, I had a hard time reading other books. I didn’t want stories too similar but I wanted characters who had a good banter too. Olivia Townsend is a college student on meets bad boy Cash Davenport at a friend’s bachelorette party. She immediately knows he’s trouble. Turns out that his twin (and equally hot brother) is dating Olivia’s cousin (and roommate) Marisa. Olivia starts to get close with both brothers and then things get really complicated. Check out the second book (Up to Me) and third book (Everything for Us).

Succubus Blues series by Richelle Mead (Vampire Academy series)

I really love this adult series. It’s one of my favorites and well written. Georgia Kincaid is a succubus (I know, weird premise), and she’s smart, sassy, and apart from working for a demon as a succubus she’s got a job at the bookstore. I felt like the characters were kind of hipster (so I could relate) and I loved the dialogue Georgina had with her misfit friends (vampires, an angel, a demon, and an imp). Trust me, you’ll love it – she’s a succubus so there’s a lot of *ahem* action. There’s 6 books in the series: Succubus On Top, Succubus Dreams, Succubus Heat, Succubus Shadows, Succubus Revealed.

Storm Born series by Richelle Mead

The Dark Swan adult series has another weird twist on the paranormal. Eugenie Markham is a shaman (yes, I know weird again) who kicks butt and banishes spirits and creatures to the Otherworld. She has an affair with a kitstune fox and Dorian the Oak Land king. Hang in there – I swear by the second chapter you’ll be hooked. Mead is great writer. There’s 3 books in the series so far: Thorn Queen and Iron Crowned.

Pleasure Unbound series by Larissa Ione

Fantastic series about demons who aren’t entirely bad, in fact, they are the heros. I loved the plot of demon-slayer Tayla who gets admitted to a hospital run by demons in disguise, and falls for Eidolon, the demon doctor who treats her. This is a series of 5 Demonica books: Desire Unchained, Passion Unleashed (my absolute favorite in the whole series), Ecstasy Unveiled, Sin Undone.

Dark Lover series by JR Ward
One of the first adult paranormal romance book series I read. It was a little hard for me to get into the motorbike, leather pants, long hair-thing – it made me feel like I was in a 90s glam rock music video (Poison, anyone), but once I got over that the story between Beth and Wrath are great. The first 5 books in the series are fun to read – especially book 3 Lover Awakened which features a Christian Grey-like character named Zsadist). Other books in the series include: Lover Eternal, Lover Revealed, Lover Unbound, Lover Enshrined, Lover Avenged, Lover Mine, Lover Unleashed.

If You Like Fifty Shades of Grey, You'll Love These Books - Don't Mess with Mama.comBared to You: A Crossfire Novel by Sylvia Day

There are a lot of similarities with this series and Fifty Shades of Grey – e.g. hot billionaire, young woman in her first job, lots of sex, a bit of a Dominant/submissive storyline, and a love story. But that’s where the similarities end. The characters are much darker. Both are dealing with sexual abuse in their pasts – so the book takes a darker turn, unlike 50 Shades where Ana is a guiding light for Christian. There’s also none of the witty banter we get with Christian and Ana – rather Ava and Gideon are abrupt with each other and sometimes cold. You have to hang in there for the second (Reflected in You) and third (Entwined in You) books.

Don’t Mess with Mama Reader Favorites

These books have been suggested by readers of Don’t Mess with Mama. Have a book to suggest? Leave a comment below.

Related Blog Posts

Share Button

PAID ENDORSEMENT DISCLOSURE: In order for me to support my blogging activities, I may receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. Please see all my disclosures and disclaimers, including Amazon and other affiliate partners.

DISCLAIMER: The content on the blog Don’t Mess with Mama is for educational and informational purposes only, and is not intended as medical advice. I am not a medical professional and the information contained on this blog should not be used to diagnose, treat or prevent any disease or health illness. Please consult with a qualified health care professional before acting on any information presented here. Any statements or claims about the possible health benefits conferred by any foods or supplements have not been evaluated by the Food & Drug Administration and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.
About Tracey Black

Hi, I’m Tracey. Welcome to Don’t Mess with Mama. Join me to stand up against junk food, processed food, and anything artificial. I’ll show you how to cook wholesome, gluten free (and grain free) meals with real food ingredients to nourish your family. Plus, learn how to get the toxins and chemicals out of your home for good with my favorite DIY and homemade recipes for beauty, personal care and cleaning products.

Speak Your Mind

Get Free Weekly Email Updates

Never miss out on the latest from Don't Mess with Mama. Each week, you'll get:

- Delicious gluten-free and Paleo/Primal recipes
- Real food cooking tips
- DIY tutorials
- And much more

Your email address is never shared with any third party and used only for updates from Don't Mess with Mama.